The Big Leap

I finished my Honors degree in February. I had my official graduation ceremony in May. And since then I have been thinking….

 

Then the hard truth hit and I had an opportunity to sink and swim.

Favim.com-32309

So I decided to SWIM…Thus I am off to England to start a 3 year stay there. 1  year of working full time, and then studying my Masters part time and working full time to cover the costs.

 

I am incredibly lucky as I have the right of abode in the UK and 90% of my dad’s family live there and are very welcoming people.

 

I am not going to pretend that this is going to be easy. Being away from the things I love dearly, my friends, the African summer, and proper braai’s will be worth it as I will get to travel more, come closer to my dream of getting my PhD, and  get my dream job in a field that does not exist in South Africa. I can’t wait for equal opportunities not based on skin color, Starbucks, the Tate Modern and being in one of the most amazing cities in the world, London.  When making a big decision there will be always be pro’s and con’s. But I have realized that so many people DON’T have this opportunity and now is the perfect time for me to fly the nest.

But first some travelling.

5 days in Durban, South Africa

2 weeks on the beautiful island of Rhodes, Greece

2 days in Edinburgh, Scotland

1 day in Leeds, England to see my sister

3 days in Edmundbyers, England to relax.

…Hopefully I can go to Ireland too to see more family.

A little of over a month before I leave 🙂 any tips or hints?

Leave a Reply

