Something to bring me back to reality

Yes I live in Africa. No I don’t live in the Africa you see on the news. I live in Johannesburg (not for much longer but more about that later). I am well off. Fine I don’t have an expensive car and I work hard for my money but I have a lot more than most. I have a warm bed to sleep in, food in the fridge, enough to go out for dinner every now and then and I have been able to study 2 degrees.

I read this story today and it is one of the most powerful stories I have ever read.

eveyrthing

It is all true.

It makes me realize how lucky I am. How brave other people are. How amazing the human spirit is.

At age six, I ran away with my sister to escape the Rwandan massacre. We spent seven years as refugees. What do you want me to do about it? Cry?

By Clemantine Wamariya
and Elizabeth Weil

Portraits by Andrew White

Leave a Reply

