I am a Social Media Junkie

I am a social media junkie. I am not afraid to admit it. I find my constant checks of twitter, facebook and blackberry messenger (BBM) not a sign of addiction but rather a sign of my love of knowledge. Most people would sigh and say I’m talking rubbish but you as a reader of a blog are probably one too.

First was Mxit in 2005…. I was never really into it because the phones I had back then were rather lacking and well connectivity was a big problem. It was insanely popular amongst the teenage masses, and the MXit chat rooms became one of its best and most controversial features. Many parents called for it to be blocked off all the major networks because it gave their children free and instant access to pictures, strangers and it started the downward decline of actual face to face interaction and basic manners and table etiquette.

Back in 2007 I joined Facebook and was instantly addicted to the ease in which one could communicate with people and the fun I could have with the millions of apps an fun games. I was also sending out cocktails (despite my being under age), huge bouquets of roses and poking people (ah the old days). When I look back at how our profiles have changed throughout the last 4 years it just shows how much we want to share these days. How much information is readily available and how open we are on social net working sites as opposed to real life.

Facebook was my only one till I started subscribing to a flurry of email news letters on every topic from branding, to technology to green peace to the economist to political sites. My favourites are still the daily emails from Gizmag, the emails from The Economist, The New York Times and the Harvard Businesses Review. I spend a fair amount of my day reading these newsletters but to me it is worth it.

2009 was the year I dabbled in business networking sites. My main one was Ecademy which was interesting but I prefer a more personal interaction with my fans. However they are a great way of interacting with business professionals and they host world class events and seminars for cheap prices that encourage networking over all sectors. I still have a profile there but I am not as active on there as my other sites.

2011 heralded the magic that is BBM and also unlimited cheap internet (for R59 a month which is about 8 US dollars). More facebook, more chatting n then came twitter. At first I thought it was boring but as I follow more and more people I started becoming addicted. People are so much more honest and frank on twitter an it serves as a better indicator of current affairs than facebook which is filled with more personal details. However your timeline can get busy and without interaction and or valid relevant interesting content on twitter your number of followers won’t grow.

Now added to all of those I am discovering the world of blogging and subscribers. I am still learning and my blog posts are still quite amateur but that will come in time.  I am enjoying using this platform to get my thoughts out into a global arena and using the experience to help improve my writing skills and my creative skills too.

“How can you squander even one more day not taking advantage of the greatest shifts of our generation? How dare you settle for less when the world has made it so easy for you to be remarkable?” – Seth Godin of Seth’s Blog

Leave a Reply

